Fbx support

General discussions about game development using the Drag[en]gine Game Engine.

If you do not know where to post your questions try this place.
Deadlytoad

Fbx support

Post by Deadlytoad »

Hi I am new to using the engine and read up on some stuff. Question is will fbx file types be acceptable in the future. I use lightwave 3d to do alot of modeling why I ask.

Thanks
dragonlord
Site Admin

Re: Fbx support

Post by dragonlord »

Welcome Deadlytoad.

From a quick look the file format is undocumented but there seems to be information about Blender having reverse engineered important parts of the file format (for their import/export plugin). So I think it would be possible to add an FBX module to the game engine.

If you have a GitHub account you can create an issue for adding an FBX module. Otherwise I can add that issue instead so you can keep an eye on it.
Deadlytoad

Post by Deadlytoad »

Could you please put it on github. Thanks. I had another question dragon script is fully object programming. Would procedural programming also be supported down the road. They both have their places to me when making a game. Hero script is both procedural and objective and its really nice to use both for different things when needed.
dragonlord
Site Admin

Post by dragonlord »

The issue is now on github: https://github.com/LordOfDragons/dragengine/issues/3

You can do programming in a procedural style in DragonScript using static function calls. So you could do something like this:

Code: Select all

class MyFunctions
   static public func int multiply(int a, int b)
      return a * b
   end
end

class MoreFunctions
   static public func int calculate(int something)
      return MyFunctions.multiply(something, something)
   end
end
This is the closest you get to procedural programming in DragonScript. This way you can mix OOP and Procedural if you want.
Deadlytoad

Post by Deadlytoad »